[ the actual title of this page:]


123 GOP Natlional Security Experts vs Trump

We the undersigned, members of the Republican national security community, represent a broad spectrum of opinion on America’s role in the world and what is necessary to keep us safe and prosperous. We have disagreed with one another on many issues, including the Iraq war and intervention in Syria. But we are united in our opposition to a Donald Trump presidency. Recognizing as we do, the conditions in American politics that have contributed to his popularity, we nonetheless are obligated to state our core objections clearly:
       His vision of American influence and power in the world is wildly inconsistent and unmoored in principle. He swings from isolationism to military adventurism within the space of one sentence.
       His advocacy for aggressively waging trade wars is a recipe for economic disaster in a globally connected world.
       His embrace of the expansive use of torture is inexcusable.
       His hateful, anti-Muslim rhetoric undercuts the seriousness of combating Islamic radicalism by alienating partners in the Islamic world making significant contributions to the effort. Furthermore, it endangers the safety and Constitutionally guaranteed freedoms of American Muslims.
       Controlling our border and preventing illegal immigration is a serious issue, but his insistence that Mexico will fund a wall on the southern border inflames unhelpful passions, and rests on an utter misreading of, and contempt for, our southern neighbor.
       Similarly, his insistence that close allies such as Japan must pay vast sums for protection is the sentiment of a racketeer, not the leader of the alliances that have served us so well since World War II.
       His admiration for foreign dictators such as Vladimir Putin is unacceptable for the leader of the world’s greatest democracy.
       He is fundamentally dishonest. Evidence of this includes his attempts to deny positions he has unquestionably taken in the past, including on the 2003 Iraq war and the 2011 Libyan conflict. We accept that views evolve over time, but this is simply misrepresentation.
       His equation of business acumen with foreign policy experience is false. Not all lethal conflicts can be resolved as a real estate deal might, and there is no recourse to bankruptcy court in international affairs.

Mr. Trump’s own statements lead us to conclude that as president, he would use the authority of his office to act in ways that make America less safe, and which would diminish our standing in the world. Furthermore, his expansive view of how presidential power should be wielded against his detractors poses a distinct threat to civil liberty in the United States. Therefore, as committed and loyal Republicans, we are unable to support a Party ticket with Mr. Trump at its head. We commit ourselves to working energetically to prevent the election of someone so utterly unfitted to the office.

  1. Ken Adelman
  2. David Adesnik
  3. Michael Auslin
  4. Mike Baker
  5. Christopher Barton
  6. Kevin W. Billings
  7. Robert D. Blackwill
  8. Daniel A. Blumenthal
  9. Max Boot
  10. Ellen Bork
  11. Anna Borshchevskaya
  12. Joseph A. Bosco
  13. Michael Chertoff
  14. Patrick Chovanec
  15. James Clad
  16. Eliot A. Cohen
  17. Gus Coldebella
  18. Carrie Cordero
  19. Michael Coulter
  20. Chester A. Crocker
  21. Patrick M. Cronin
  22. Seth Cropsey
  23. Tom Donnelly
  24. Daniel Drezner
  25. Colin Dueck
  26. Eric Edelman
  27. Joseph Esposito
  28. Charles Fairbanks
  29. Richard A. Falkenrath
  30. Peter D. Feaver
  31. Niall Ferguson
  32. Jamie Fly
  33. Richard Fontaine
  34. Aaron Friedberg
  35. Dan Gabriel
  36. Greg Garcia
  37. Jana Chapman Gates
  38. Jeffrey Gedmin
  39. Reuel Marc Gerecht
  40. James K. Glassman
  41. David Gordon
  42. Christopher J. Griffin
  43. Mary R. Habeck
  44. Paul Haenle
  45. Melinda Haring
  46. Robert Hastings
  47. Rebeccah Heinrichs
  48. Francis Q. Hoang
  49. Rachel Hoff
  50. Jeffrey W. Hornung
  51. William C. Inboden
  52. Jamil N. Jaffer
  53. Ash Jain
  54. Marc C. Johnson
  55. Myriah Jordan
  56. Robert G. Joseph
  57. Tim Kane
  58. Kate Kidder
  59. Robert Kagan
  60. Rep. Jim Kolbe
  61. David Kramer
  62. Stephen Krasner
  1. Matthew Kroenig
  2. Frank Lavin
  3. Philip I. Levy
  4. Philip Lohaus
  5. Mary Beth Long
  6. Peter Mansoor
  7. John Maurer
  8. Matthew McCabe
  9. Bryan McGrath
  10. Richard G. Miles
  11. Paul D. Miller
  12. Charles Morrison
  13. Michael B. Mukasey
  14. Scott W. Muller
  15. Lester Munson
  16. Andrew S. Natsios
  17. Michael Noonan
  18. Tom Nichols
  19. John Noonan
  20. Roger F. Noriega
  21. Stephen E. Ockenden
  22. John Osborn
  23. Robert T. Osterhaler
  24. Mackubin T. Owens
  25. Daniel Pipes
  26. Everett Pyatt
  27. Martha T. Rainville
  28. Stephen Rodriguez
  29. Marc A. Ross
  30. Nicholas Rostow
  31. Michael Rubin
  32. Daniel F. Runde
  33. Benjamin Runkle
  34. Richard L. Russell
  35. Andrew Sagor
  36. Kori Schake
  37. Randy Scheunemann
  38. Gary J. Schmitt
  39. Gabriel Schoenfeld
  40. Russell Seitz
  41. Kalev I. Sepp
  42. Vance Serchuk
  43. David R. Shedd
  44. Gary Shiffman
  45. Kristen Silverberg
  46. Michael Singh
  47. Ray Takeyh
  48. Jeremy Teigen
  49. William H. Tobey
  50. Frances F. Townsend
  51. Jan Van Tol
  52. Daniel Vajdich
  53. Ruth Wedgwood
  54. Albert Wolf
  55. Julie Wood
  56. Dov S. Zakheim
  57. Roger Zakheim
  58. Sam Zega
  59. Philip Zelikow
  60. Robert B. Zoellick
  61. Laurence Zuriff